

Jones County Appraisal District P: (325) 823-2422 1137 E Court Plaza PO Box 348 Anson, TX 79501

#### **Board of Directors Meeting Minutes**

November 19, 2024

F: (325) 823-2424

The regular meeting of the Board of Directors of the Appraisal District of Jones County was held Tuesday, November 19, 2024 in the office of the Appraisal District located at 1137 East Court Plaza, Anson, Texas.

Present at the meeting were Dale Spurgin, Jim Astin, Jim Bailey, Eugene Griffith, Tucker Teague, Pete Klein, Deanna Wedeking and Tammy Smith.

Dale Spurgin called the meeting together at 8:37 a.m. There were no public comments.

#### **Order of Business:**

Agenda Item A & B: Approval of Minutes from September 10, 2024 Public Hearing to Adopt the 2025-2026 Reappraisal Plan and Minutes from September 10, 2024 Meeting

Dale Spurgin called to combine Agenda items A & B to call for one motion to approve both. Jim Astin made a motion to approve both, Eugene Griffith second and the motion carried unanimously.

## Agenda Item C: Cara Hilbrich to Speak with the Board on the Results of the 2023 Audit

Cara Hilbrich spoke with the Board regarding the results of the 2023 Audit of the District financials. The General Consent without objection is to fully fund the reserves and to refund the remaining to the entities, with an explanation for the amount being returned. Cara will update her report to reflect these updates and submit a final report for approval at the December meeting.

#### Agenda Item D: Discussion and Approval of Disaster Recovery Plan

Jim Astin recommended adding entities left off in error. Pete Klein motioned to approve the Disaster Recovery Plan with those corrections. A second was made by Jim Astin. Motion carried unanimously.

## Agenda Item E: Discussion and Approval of the 2025 Holiday Schedule

Tammy Smith reported the Holiday Schedule was simply mirrored the County Holiday Schedule. Dale Spurgin advised an extra day was given at Christmas because it is in the middle of the week, so in return we have removed President's Day. Eugene Griffith motioned to approve and Tucker Teague second. Motion carried unanimously.

#### **Agenda Item F: Chief Appraiser Evaluation Results**

Dale Spurgin read the tally of all of the evaluations submitted to him by the other Board members. Jim Bailey motioned to approve the results and Tucker Teague second. Motion carried unanimously.

## **Agenda Item G: Chief Appraiser Reports**

Tammy Smith reported we received the official letter from the Property Tax Division of the Texas Comptroller's Office regarding the 2023 Property Value Study stating Hamlin ISD did not pass but was



Jones County Appraisal District P: (325) 823-2422 1137 E Court Plaza PO Box 348 Anson, TX 79501

F: (325) 823-2424

given a Grace period. Tammy has also received the letter from the Methods and Procedures Review stating we have completed and satisfied all areas of the review. We are now passing the 2022-2023 MAP Review. After getting this MAP Review corrected, it is now time to start the 2024-2025 MAP Review and we are waiting on the results from the 2024 Property Value Study. We have found some issues in Quickbooks and therefore were unable to create reports this month because we are unable to reconcile with the errors that exist.

# Agenda Item H: Adjourn

There being no more business to attend to at this time Dale Spurgin called for a motion to adjourn. Jim Astin motioned to adjourn, second was made by Tucker Teague. Motion carried unanimously, the meeting adjourned at 9:51.

\_\_\_\_\_

Dale Spurgin Board of Directors, Chairman